This part of London is often referred to as just the 'City' or the 'Square Mile', as it is just over one square mile in area. The Square Mile is also used to indicate Great Britain's financial services and commercial sector, which has historically been based in this area.
The vast dome of St Paul's still dominates the centre of the city, with taller modern buildings now standing alongside. Just down river is the formidable fortifications of the Tower of London, a symbol of the City's invincibility since the days of William the Conqueror. The magnificent Tower Bridge, near to the Tower of London, marks the City's maritime prowess.
'The Old Lady of Threadneedle Street holds the nation's gold supply and issues banknotes. Building began by Sampson in 1734, reconstructed by Soane in 1788 and then rebuilt by Herbert Baker in the 1920s and 30s. Figures on its bronze doors and facade (by Wheeler) include the 'Old Lady'. The mosaic floor in the entrance hall is by Boris Anrep.
The museum has exhibitions and displays illustrating the bank's 300-year-old history. Website
Home of critic and lexicographer Sir Samuel Johnson from 1748-59. The house, dating from the 17th century, contains many relics from Dr Johnson's life, including a first edition of the Dictionary, portrait by Barry, portrait of his companion Boswell, by Reynolds and a collection of 18th-century prints. open Monday to Saturday 11am to 5.00pm Website
One of Britain's most important horologic collections, housed in the Guildhall Library. Comprises collections of the Clockmakers' Company and the Antiquarian Horological Society. Open Monday to Saturday 9.30 am until 4.45 pm. Entrance Free Website
Walk of just under 2 miles, following the original route of the old Roman Wall around the city. Starting at the Tower of London is runs via the Museum of London and takes in 21 descriptive panels. The remains of Cripplegate Roman fort, outcrops of preserved Roman wall and the modern office blocks at the Barbican can be seen along the way.
A Palladian-style official residence of the Lord Mayor of London. Designed by George Dance the Elder in 1739-53. Its suite of 18th century staterooms, including 88 ft long Egyptian Hall, have chimney pieces of marble and stone, paintings and tapestries. Tours are available of the staterooms every Tuesday at 2pm.
Built on top of the west gate of the original Roman fort. The museum incorporates the old Guildhall and London Museums, and Museum of Leathercraft. Displays include the history and relics of London since its early Roman occupation, with galleries representing its changing face over the centuries. Exhibits include Royal memorabilia and traditional leatherwork, representing the craft from the original guilds, including Roman footwear, ancient purses and saddlery.
One of the world's greatest philatelic collections, displayed in purpose designed museum, established in 1965. The Phillips Collection covers 19th century British stamps. Post Office's own collection runs from the original Penny Black to present day, incorporating some 250,000 stamps world wide, including all the stamps issued under British Post Office control since 1840. A proof of the first printing plate for the Penny Black is also on display.
England's most famous cathedral stands 365 ft high and 515 ft long. It was designed by Christopher Wren after the previous cathedral was destroyed in Great Fire of 1666. At centre of the cathedral is a great dome, painted with incidents in the life of St Paul. The viewing gallery offers broad views of the City. The famous whispering Gallery in the dome is reached by 259 stairs. Its acoustics allow whisper uttered on one side to be dearly heard on other - more than 100 ft away. Its choir stalls were carved by Grinling Gibbons. A statue of St Paul, by Francis Bird, stands 12 ft high. The high altar was consecrated in 1958, after the previous one was damaged by bombing in 1940. Memorials include those of Nelson and Wellington. In the south aisle is artists corner, with monuments to Blake, Landseer, Reynolds and Turner. There is a chapel dedicated to 28,000 fallen United States servicemen. Wren's epitaph, in Latin, is written beneath the dome: 'Reader, if you seek his monument, look around you.'
London's most iconic bridge over the Thames. Read more...
Part of the Museum on London. The exhibition tells the 2000 year story of the River Thames' part in London's development as city and port. Automatic tour takes visitors through a tableaux depicting different periods in London's history. The Waterfront Finds Museum displays objects dating back to Roman times, uncovered in local excavations. Website
Beautifully preserved medieval fortress on the banks of the Thames, dominated by a White Tower dating from 1097. The Crown Jewels are housed here, guarded by the Yeoman Warders (Beefeaters). The Tower's Chapel Royal dates from 1520. State enemies were once brought through Traitors' Gate for execution. The presence of the Tower's ravens is believed to guarantee its invincibility. Website
Restored Methodist church built in 1778. Contains the original pulpit from which John Wesley preached. Wesley's tomb is located in the church graveyard. Next door is an 18th century house in which Wesley lived for 12 years, now museum containing much original period furniture. Website
Built on area that was severely damaged during World War II. Includes library, art gallery, three cinemas, concert hall and two theatres. Website
Modern theatre forming part of new office block. The original theatre begun in 1959 and was housed in disused Victorian warehouse.
Only Art Nouveau pub in London, built in 1875 and remodeled in 1905 by H. Fuller Clark. Mosaics and carved figures by Henry Poole cover the outside. The interior is decorated in multicoloured marble with bronze figures of monks at work.
Ancient, oak-beamed pub. Watering hall of many celebrated writers who came there such as Mark Twain, Dickens and Yeats.
This old London inn was once famous for cockfighting in the 16th century. Interior has been decorated to recreate a traditional cockpit and the original spectators' gallery has been restored.
Restored 18th-century pub used by Charles Dickens as a setting in his Pickwick Papers.
Wine house on site of Jamaica Coffee House, centre of Jamaican trade from 1670s. Established as wine house in 1869. Early coffee percolator can still be seen.
Inn founded in 17th century and rebuilt after the Great Fire and again after World War II. Founded by a court physician to James I.
An old tavern built by Bishop of Goodrich in 1546, for use by servants. An inscription on the side of the inn records this fact. Small rooms with original dark wall panelling preserved. It is said that Elizabeth I once drank here.
Claimed to be London's oldest wine house, dating from 1663. Its early Victorian frontage has been well preserved. Interior noted for its low ceilings.
One of the City's few surviving Tudor buildings, a row of half-timbered houses, built in 1586-96. Arched entrance leads to an inn, which surrounds central courtyard. The hall has an original hammerbeam roof. The nearby Great Hall of Barnard's Inn has panelling and heraldic stained glass.
Designed by Sir Horace Jones to house London's fish market, opened in 1877. It has mansard roofs and pavilions at either end surmounted by dolphins on weather vanes.
The street was largely destroyed during World War 11, however, three shops from 1687 still stand. No. 73, is attributed to Wren. The Saddlers' and Mercers' halls have been restored.
Buildings dating from 1881 stand on site of this 14th century market. Website
Street of pubs, off-licences and cafes, also the site of a general market.
Best known as 'Petticoat Lane' street market. Original market has spread into Club Row (specialising in birds and fish), and Brick Lane, noted for furniture and electrical equipment.
London's premier wholesale meat market housed in a glass, iron framed building with domed towers, dating from 1868. Website
Romanesque building houses charitable activities of St Botolph Without Bishopsgate. Contains reference library of London history, lecture hall and collection of prints and drawings. Website
Best known as the Old Bailey. The present Portland-stone building dates from 1907 and was extended in 1972. Above the building is the gold-leaf statue of justice with sword and scales. The grand entrance has figures of Truth, justice, and the Recording Angel above it. Its interior is dominated by murals and marbles.
A carefully restored 16th-century manor house. Include a 1571 Elizabethan Great Hall. Website
Home of Royal Heralds was probably established by Edward I in the 13th century. The restored building is 17th century. Contains charters, rolls and records saved from two great City fires. The college examines pedigrees, and designs and grants new coats of arms. Website
The early 19th century headquarters of Collector of Customs for the Port of London. The current building replaced an earlier one by Thomas Ripley, which burnt down 1814. Robert Smirke built the notable neoclassical facade extending 1190 ft, and the Long Room where ships' masters and agents registered cargoes.
The centre of Britain's newspaper industry, until the 1980s. The former Daily Express building of 1931 and Daily Telegraph offices of 1928, still stand. The Reuters Press Association building, designed by Lutyens, dates from 1935.
The Portland-stone Royal Mail headquarters were designed by Tanner 1895. Carved heads of past postmaster generals are positioned above its entrance doors. A plaque records Marconi's first radio transmission in 1896. A statue of Sir Rowland Hill, founder of the Penny Post in 1840, stands outside.
The gilded figure of a Fat Boy on the corner of Cock Lane marks point where the Great Fire of London allegedly stopped. The bronze figure, 'Peace' commissioned in 1873, by J.B. Philip, stands in the fountain in the public gardens.
Original building where Court of Common Council meets. Dates from 1411, restored 1952 after damage in Great Fire and Blitz Walls, porch and crypt survive from original building. Corporation Art Gallery has paintings of great state occasions over last 100 years. Library contains first folios of Shakespeare's plays. Guildhall Art Library includes paintings and drawings of old London Limewood statues of Gog and Magog, legendary giants Whose warlike exploits resulted in founding of New Troy, stand here.
Startling steel-and-glass building of 1986, designed by Richard Rogers. Houses the Lloyd's firm of world famous underwriters. Heysham's neoclassical underwriting room, 1957, houses the Lutine Bell recalling Lloyd's maritime origins, which is still rung to signal marine news.
This street became the financial centre of London in the Middle Ages. Colourful signs displayed outside its banks resemble the inn signs of medieval times, such as the gilded grasshopper.
Fluted Doric column topped by golden globe rising from flames. Designed by Wren to commemorate the Great Fire of 1666, and completed in 1677. A spiral staircase of 311 steps leads to 202 ft high balcony, with views over the City. Panels around the base record the story of the fire.
A 17th century tavern, one of the few buildings in the City to survive the Great Fire of London in 1666. Upstairs room in , has Tudor panels with ornate strap work, Jacobean ceiling with a centre decoration of Prince of Wales feathers.
Present building opened in 1844 after 300 years of trading on site. This classical building, designed by Tite, has a Turkish pavement and wall scenes of London's history. The inner courtyard is surrounded by up-market jewellery shops and restaurants. Website
London's oldest hospital was founded 1123, and reconstructed in 1730-66 by Gibbs. The great staircase has Hogarth murals and the Great Hall contains portraits by Holbein, Kneller, Reynolds and Millais. It contains a Pathological Museum. Open to the public Tuesday to Friday, 10am-4pm Website
Complete history of letterpress printing and lithography in building opened for technical education in 1891. Types, presses, blocks and plates feature among equipment on display. Also includes the Bridewell Theatre. Located just off Fleet Street. Website
A griffin mounted on a pedestal marks the boundaries of the cities of London and Westminster. Once one of the major entrances to the City of London. A bar or turnpike stood here between 1301 to 1672.
Roman temple to Persian god, Mithras, dates from 2nd century and excavated in 1954. Open all year, free entry. Located in Queen Victoria Street, London EC4 (nearest tube: Barbican or St Paul's)
Headquarters of the organisation responsible for coastal navigation, including lights, buoys, pilots, housed in 18th-century building. Rebuilt Ionic pillars and interior under fine weather vane. Website
Vast, pillared stone building designed by Lomax-Simpson and completed in 1931 carries huge sculptures by Reid-Dick. Located at 100 Victoria Embankment, opposite Blackfriars bridge.
Carlyle's House | National Army Museum | Cutty Sark | Fan Museum | Gipsy Moth | Greenwich Park | National Maritime Museum | Royal Naval College | Royal Observatory | Baden-Powell Museum | Kensington Palace | Natural History Museum | Science Museum | Victoria & Albert Museum | London Aquarium | London Eye | Florence Nightingale Museum | Imperial War Museum | Lambeth Palace | Museum of Garden History | Clink Museum | Golden Hinde | HMS Belfast | London Dungeon | Shakespeare Globe | Tate Modern | Canary Wharf | Docklands Museum | Bell Foundry | British Museum | Jewish Museum | London Transport Museum | Madame Tussaud's | National Gallery | National Portrait Gallery | Pollock's Toy Museum | Sir John Soane's Museum | Apsley House | Buckingham Palace | Cabinet War Rooms | Downing Street | Horse Guards | Houses of Parliament | Tate Gallery | Westminster Abbey