England's northernmost town, has been fought over by the English and Scots for generations, changing hands 14 times. In 1482 the present county and national border was settled in favour of England, and in 1551, during the reign of William IV, Berwick-upon-Tweed was declared a free town, independent of both counties.
Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the town is lined with elegant Georgian streets and its old market square is dominated by the spire of an imposing 18th century town hall. The spire rises to 150 feet and is often mistaken for a church. Guided tours of the town hall are available the summer, enable visitors to explore the upper storeys, where there are civic rooms and the former town gaol, including a small Cell Block Museum.
Some of the finest and best preserved medieval fortified walls encircle the town, providing a spectacular 2 mile walk, with excellent views over the town and the Northumberland coastline.
The town's castle was demolished by the Victorians to make way for a railway station. Trains now enter the town across the magnificent Berwick Viaduct, which continues across the river to form one of three fine bridges that span the mouth of the Tweed.
106 Marygate, Berwick upon Tweed. TD15 1BN - Tel: 01289 301 780
Run by English Heritage, the 18th century Georgian Barracks provide an informative journey into our military past. Contains displays of British Infantry History and also houses the town museum and art gallery.
Opening times: Apr~Sep, daily 10-5; Nov~Mar daily 10-4; Admission Charge
Location: TD15 lDF (on the Parade, off Church Street, in town centre) Tel: 01289 304493 Website