Bangor is pleasant university and cathedral city, built on the shores of the Menai Straits. It began life as a small fishing village, until its rapid expansion in the early 19th-c, when the nearby Penrhyn slate quarries opened and docks were built to export the abundant Welsh blue/grey slate. The coming of the railway in the 1860s and the building of Telford's suspension bridge across the straits, further advanced the city's status.
The Museum and Art Gallery, in the town centre, tells the story of the city's history. Today Bangor is very a busy place, especially when its 5000 or so university students are in residence. The University College of North Wales was opened in 1911 and is a fine English Renaissance building.
The town centre is a maze of little streets of mainly unremarkable architecture. On the seaward side the streets runs down to the shores of the Menai Straits, where a superb Victorian pier stretches out towards Anglesey. The pier retains much of its original charm and features, including rows of charming little kiosks along its entire length.
Tourist Information Centre:
|Town Hall , Ffordd Deiniol, Bangor, Wales LL57 2RE - Tel: 01248 352786|
The modest Cathedral of St Deinol, occupies one of the most ancient ecclesiastical sites in Great Britain. It was founded in the 13th-c and fully restored by Gilbert Scott in the 19th-c. Among the cathedral's many treasures is a fine 15th-c font, a carved oak figure known as the Mostyn Christ (circa 1518) and a number of modern religious paintings.
A museum corner has Flemish carvings, stone fragments and miser courts. Outside; the Bible Garden (laid out in 1962), has collection of virtually every plant mentioned in Bible, including a Judas tree.
Opening times: Mon to Fri: 9am
- 4.30pm, Sat: 10.30am – 1pm - Donations Welcome
Location: Cathedral Close, Bangor LL57 1LH - Tel: 01248 353983 - Website
The museum and art gallery (housed in the Old Canonry, opposite the Cathedral), presents artifacts and exhibits covering the development of North Wales from prehistoric times to the present. Of particular interest is a collection of 17th to 19th-c porcelain. There is also a period reconstruction of a traditional Welsh kitchen and a fine collection of 17th and 19th century furniture on display.
Opening times: Sat: 10.30am -
4.30pm, Tue to Fri: 12.30 - 4.30pm (closed Mon &
Sun) - Free Entry
Location: Ffordd Gwynedd, Bangor, Gwynedd, LL57 1DT, Tel:01248 353368 - Website